top of page
Search
  • britandjackson

Flexi Vario Retractable Cord Dog Leash


Let's get straight to the point: Flexi retractable leashes can be known as the devil in many dog circles, especially among trainers. There is good reason for that. They CAN be misused and mishandled by well-meaning dog lovers who just want Fluffy to have free roam (yet remain safe on leash). There is a time and a place for these leashes, for sure.

Now that my disclaimer is out of the way. I LOVE Flexi brand! Pictured is the 26 foot Flexi Vario Retractable Cord Leash size Medium (for dogs up to 44lbs). If you have a well behaved, properly trained dog, these leashes can be a God send. I live on 4 acres and while Jackson is allowed off leash to have supervised play -- I don't like the idea of him being free at night or certain times. However, he still loves his space and privacy to "do his business". As seen below:

Flexi Vario Retractable Leash, 26 ft, size Medium, with attachable poop bag holder

I love them for multiple reasons. As stated above, we have a lot of land therefore no close neighbors and no other dogs to worry about being nearby. We have the perfect location for retractable leashes to actually come in handy and be safe to use.

I do have long lines as well (up to 50 feet) but they can be a total pain in the butt sometimes. They get wrapped up around trees, ankles, the dog. They have to be unraveled or untangled often. They are simply not as convenient especially for 2 minute potty breaks.

I often take the dogs to wide open fields or parks that are uncrowded and have very little people. The dogs get extra exercise by being able to get in more steps (they are clearly quicker than I am). They will gladly walk out ahead but seem to know when it's reaching close to the end of the 26 feet because very rarely do they go any further than that. In other words, I don't want them running all the way to the end of the 26 feet and then pulling me around.

Now, places that are NOT wise to use Flexi's:

- crowded parks

- city streets

- veterinarians office

- pet stores

- dog events

- near busy streets

I use this leash when we take the dogs camping or hiking as well. If we are in secluded areas and I want the dogs to get more out of the hiking/camping experience, these leashes come in handy to keep them SAFE yet allow them to roam a bit more than a 6ft leash can offer. No matter what, ensure that your dog is taught a good recall just in case they ever get loose (leashes CAN fail, humans can drop them, things happen).

The leash itself is very well built. I love the new Vario style because you can buy add-on's for the leash such as the poop bag holder and/or treat dispenser (as shown below) as well as a flashlight that clips onto the side of it (not pictured). They have MANY different styles to choose from including tape leashes (vs. the cord pictured), if you prefer. The tape leashes would likely be better for a larger breed as well.

I chose the longer length (26ft) and the cord style because the small & medium leashes are ONLY offered in that length in the cord style hence why I ultimately decided on that rather than tape. I did, however, decide on the Medium size for dogs up to 44lbs even though my dog is only 19lbs because I wanted more security and strength in the cord. The size Small claims to hold dogs up to 26lbs which is likely more than efficient for a 19lb dog but I wanted to be sure and I don't find the medium to be too heavy. It basically just gives me more peace of mind that it is going to withstand his weight.

Bottom line is... I love Flexi brand. I find them to be reliable, sturdy, long-lasting and do what they are intended to do. It's the owners responsibility to determine if their dog is trained or well behaved enough to walk properly on one in the right situations. I easily walk two dogs at once with two separate Flexi leashes and it's become second nature to me. They have learned how to avoid getting twisted or tangled (as have I) and do a great job with it.

I purchased this from Chewy.com and it arrived on my door step in less than two days. Chewy's customer service is superb and their shipping is insanely fast!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page